Food allergies are defined as an abnormal response to food. The immune system can respond in a variety of ways ranging from mild to severe reactions. I am allergic to seafood and shellfish. I have never tasted it, but have had severe reactions just from touching seafood or shellfish food items. My children each have different food allergies but the list of allergens include: dairy, seafood, egg, peanuts, shellfish, some tree nuts, and fish.
So an Allergic Halal Foodie is a Vegan? Just to clarify, Vegans consume all nuts, but eat nothing from an animal source, including honey. So, an Allergic Halal Foodie is not a Vegan, because we eat meat (halal, of course) and can’t eat peanuts or some tree nuts. What do we eat? Lots of tasty things. The real bonus is that the non-dairy products we consume are automatically halal. So things like dairy yogurt with gelatin or dairy cheese with non-halal ingredients are never a concern.